Rachaelmariebreheny's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Looking back on your preliminary task (continuity editing task) what do you feel you have learnt in the progression from it to the full product? April 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — rachaelmariebreheny @ 5:59 pm

My preliminary task involved the necessary shots required such as shot reverse shot, 180 degree pan and walking in through the door in two directions. In my film I’ ashamed to say I used none of these shots! My preliminary task shows that I can preset continuity effectively, yet in my opening contiuity was not an issue as it was still image shots. This wasn’t because I didnt want the task of worrying about continuity but rather because I wanted a unique film that used modern filmography to create horror. The film MomentumĀ uses straight cuts rather than continuity editing in order to fulfill the desired effect of jumpiness to match the plot of memory loss.

I wanted my film to echo this with objects and body parts. If i were to create the full film, it would most certainly have shot-reverse-shot between the killer and his/her/its victims as well as any police conversations ect. I’d also use panning to look over a crime scene as if viewing from a detective itself.

Although I didn’t really have to worry about continuity editing for my opening I still shot all of my footage at least three times each, with either the same angle or completely different so I had a variety of shots and a variety of ways to change my final piece if necessary.

 

Leave a comment